Popeye-Would-Be-Proud spinach soup (ENG and GER)

This is one of the soups out of my epic soup cookbook. The one that lists the properties of most ingredients and why they are good for you.
It makes me want to eat all of them immediately and become slim, well rested, awake, brainy and beautiful immediately, but apparently I have to work my way through them one at a time.
So I made the spinach soup the other day. I love spinach, but usually only as a side or well, as part of a meal, not as the main ingredient, but this was so so fresh and tasty! (And it also makes my muscles stronger, because of the iron, chlorophyll and plant hormones in the spinach, now ain’t that dandy?)

Ingredients: (serves 4)

800g fresh spinach leaves or 700g frozen spinach, defrosted
2 shallots
2 tbsp. oil
800ml chicken stock (I used vegetable stock instead)
250g single cream
salt, pepper
freshly grated nutmeg
2 egg yolks
1 tbsp. lemon juice

Method:

I started off by taking the stalks off the fresh spinach leaves and then taking a picture of the whole mess. (You could just go ahead and throw them in the bin straight away if you wanted to though).

Then I fried my chopped shallot (and apparently one spinach stalk) in some oil.

I added the spinach to boil down and collapse.

Once that was done, I poured in the stock and 200g of the cream and seasoned.

I blended it in my awesome new blender and stirred in the whisked egg yolks with the remainder of the cream. I heated the soup back up, taking care not to boil it though.

And then tucked into it with a bit of crème fraîche and bread. Enjoy!

Diese Suppe ist aus meinem Lieblingskochbuch, dem tollen in dem jede „magische“ Zutat der Suppe erklärt wird und warum sie gut für den Körper ist.
Das Buch löst in mir den Impuls aus, mich schlagartig schlank, ausgeschlafen, hell wach, clever und wunderschön zu essen, aber anscheinend muss ich mich Rezept für Rezept durch das Buch futtern schön essen.
Ich habe also vor ein paar Tagen eine Spinat Suppe gemacht. Und ich mag Spinat. Aber eigentlich nur als Beilage oder halt als Teil eines Gerichts, nicht als Hauptzutat; aber diese Suppe war so unglaublich frisch und lecker! (UND sie macht meine Muskeln stärker wegen dem Eisen, Chlorophyll und Pflanzenhormonen die in dem Spinat sind. Wenn das mal kein ideales Essen ist!)

Zutaten: (für 4 Personen)

800g frischen Spinat oder 700 gefrorenen
2 Schalotten
2 EL Öl
800ml Hühnerbrühe (ich habe Gemüsebrühe verwendet)
250g Sahne
Salz und Pfeffer
frisch geriebene Muskatnuss
2 Eigelbe
1 EL Zitronensaft

Nachdem ich die Stiele von den Spinatblättern entfernt hatte, habe ich die gehackten Schalotten im Öl angebraten. Nach einer Weile habe ich den Spinat dazugetan, damit er durch die Hitze zusammenfällt.
Danach habe ich die Brühe und 200g der Sahne dazugetan und die Suppe gewürzt. Danach habe ich habe ich die Suppe in meinem Mixer püriert (mit einem Pürierstab geht das natürlich auch).
Dann habe ich die geschlagenen Eigelbe und den Rest der Sahne dazugegeben, die Suppe nochmal durchgewärmt, aber nicht gekocht und dann mit etwas Crème Fraîche und Brot weggemampft. (Und direkt stark und schön dabei geworden!)

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, soups, tried and tested, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Popeye-Would-Be-Proud spinach soup (ENG and GER)

  1. Katri says:

    Oh it looks so yummy! I’m so hungry, could just about do with a tasty soup right now…^^ One day, I’m going to go through all of your delicious recipes and claim that it’s a German reading exercise.🙂

    • Anna says:

      kittykat, your comments make me happy.
      your comment is also comment nr. 69, which made me giggle immaturely.

  2. Maria Petri says:

    oh ja, popeye wäre sicherlich stolz auf dich und deine suppe… hast du neue gerichte aus schottland mitgebracht?

Leave a Reply

