One Vegan Month, Week 4 (ENG and GER)

First of all I would like to apologise for being this late with my update. I’m in my final two weeks of uni for this term and the workload is crazy. But here I go, taking a break from essay writing, to write a blogpost, dedication, right?
This week went quite well again, I took Monday off of veganism, for the plain reason that the French Society from my uni had organized a meal and French cooking demonstration in a pretty fancy French restaurant. And well, I will probably never get a two course meal there for that cheap ever again, so I had not-so-vegan food on Monday. But I shall blog about that later.

Wednesday:
Dinner: Leftover vegetable stew

Thursday:
Dinner: Gnocchi with tomato sauce and rocket

Friday:
Dinner: a boring little sandwich

Saturday:
Dinner: Mama Cucina Vegan Quiche

Sunday:
Dinner: Vegan burger

Monday:
Dinner: Meal at La Bastille

Tuesday:
Dinner: Vegetable wraps with hummus

I have to admit that my cooking was pretty much non-existent this week, mainly because of uni work and because I started work at the German Christmas Market and when I come home late, absolutely frozen, I am usually not much in the mood to cook. So this was a week of quick, boring dinners.

So with this, I have officially finished my vegan month, it was harder than I expected, but well, I still made it. I have to say I am astonished about the big differences in quality and taste when it comes to vegan replacement products; some taste absolutely fantastic and you can’t tell the difference, and some you just want spit straight out again, screaming “what the hell is this meant to be?”. (On that note; Cheezly is a nono, Tofutti cream cheese however is gorgeous.)
So, as a kind of conclusion, I will continue to buy vegan icecreams, ie. sorbets, such as Bottlegreen elderflower sorbet and vegan cream and pates, because they are just soooo tasty. I intend to swap to organic cheeses and milk, I started to feel a bit silly regarding how strongly I feel about free range eggs and against laying batteries; when pretty much the same is happening in milk production. I will also carry on buying organic meat; which luckily I can afford as I buy meat so rarely.
So yes, learned something new, completed a challenge I set myself and have not dropped out of uni yet. I am somewhat happy with myself.

Now, guess what I rewarded myself with:

Erstmal tut es mir leid, dass ich fast eine ganze Woche zu spät dran bin, ich bin in den letzten zwei Wochen des Trimesters und muss Endspurtmäßig ordentlich für die Uni arbeiten. Aber jetzt, als Pause vom Hausarbeit schreiben, blogge ich! Wenn das mal kein Engagement ist.
Diese Woche ist wieder ganz gut verlaufen, wobei ich am Montag “frei” gemacht habe, aus dem einfachen Grund dass unsere French Society der Uni ein Essen und Kochdemonstration gebucht hatte, in einem schicken französischem Restaurant. Ich glaube dass ich sonst nicht die Möglichkeit hätte dort nochmal für so billig essen gehen zu können. Aber darüber werde ich nachher noch bloggen.

Mittwoch:
Abend: Gemüseeintopf Reste

Donnerstag:
Abend: Gnocchi mit Tomatensauce und Rucola

Freitag:
Abend: ein langweiliges kleines Sandwich

Samstag:
Abend: Vegane Quiche von Mama Cucina

Sonntag:
Abend: vegane Burger

Montag:
Abend: Essen in La Bastille

Dienstag:
Abend: Tortilla Wraps mit Hummus und Gemüse

Ich muss zugeben, dass ich wieder mal nicht gut und viel gekocht habe, was einmal mit der Uni zu tun hat, aber auch damit dass ich grade einen Job auf dem Weihnachtsmarkt bekommen habe, und dadurch häufig erst spät und durchgefroren nach Hause komme. Deswegen also die langweiligen Abendessen.
Ich habe nun also offiziell einen Monat lang vegan gelebt, es war schwerer als ich gedacht hatte, aber ich habe es trotzdem geschafft. Und ich muss sagen dass ich ziemlich erstaunt bin, was die Qualitätsunterschiede zwischen veganen Ersatzprodukten angeht; manche schmecken toll und man merkt keinen Unterschied und manche andere möchte man sofort wieder ausspucken. (In anderen Worten, Cheezly ist furchtbar, Toffutti Frischkäse dafür aber wunderbar.)
Mein Fazit, sozusagen, ist dass ich weiterhin vegane Eissorten, also Sorbets kaufen werde (Bottlegreens Holunder Sorbet ist prima!) und vegane Sahne und Pasteten kaufen werde, einfach weil sie so toll schmecken. Ich habe vor auf Bio Käse und Milch umzustellen; mir ist aufgefallen dass es etwas seltsam ist, dass ich so sehr gegen Legebatterien und für Freilandeier bin, wenn aber in der Milchproduktion praktisch das Gleiche passiert und ich aber diese Produkte brav weiterkaufe. Das wird also jetzt ein Ende haben. Und Bio Fleisch werde ich auch weiterhin kaufen.
Ich habe also etwas gelernt, eine mir selbst gesetzte Herausforderung geschafft und bin immernoch an der Uni. Ich bin tatsächlich fast schon zufrieden mit mir.

Und jetzt ratet mal womit ich mich belohnt habe:

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Vegan, Vegan Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

