One Vegan Month, Week 2 (ENG and GER)

This week was hard.

Incredibly hard.

I spent the whole week with my boyfriend, due to being ill and not wanting to waste away on my own in my flat. But to be honest, it wasn’t helping my vegan challenge. He seemed to have all my favourite meals in this one week: pasta with cheese sauce, paneer curry and pizza. I had a lot of boring meals. Really.

Diese Woche war schwer.

Unglaublich schwer.

Ich habe die ganze Woche bei meinem Freund verbracht, weil ich krank war und nicht alleine dahinschwinden wollte. Aber um ehrlich zu sein, hat es meinem veganen Monat nicht geholfen. Es schien als ob er alle meine Lieblingsgerichte gegessen hat: Nudeln mit Käse-Sahne-Sauce, Panir Curry und Pizza. Und ich hatte unglaublich viele langweilige Gerichte.

The falafel we made on Sunday was great, we made the flatbread ourselves as well, which didn’t turn out very flat at all, but still tasted good.

Monday:
Breakfast: Toast with vegan beanfeast pate, which looks like poo, but tastes awesome
Lunch: leftover falafel and cake
Dinner: vegetable rogan josh

Tuesday:
Brunch: leftover curry
Dinner: mash, vegetables and … tofu. I made tofu. It was horrible.

Wednesday:
Breakfast: toast with pate
Lunch: toast with Tofutti cream “cheese”
Dinner: Chips and vegetable fingers
I am a carb monster.

Thursday:
Breakfast: toast again
Lunch: Beans on toast
Dinner: Pizza, no cheese, boring.

Friday:
Breakfast: toast AGAIN!
Lunch: Leftover pizza
Dinner: Vegan burger

Saturday:
Breakfast: toast…
Lunch: Tomato rice
Dinner: Salad

Sunday:
Breakfast: guess what
Lunch: spring rolls
Dinner: Imam Bayildi

Well, I made Imam Bayildi, which is a long time restaurant favourite of mine, a Turkish dish, that (according to the name) is so fantastic that the Imam fainted after having it. It was great. It was the first time I cooked it, so there are some things I would do differently when making it the next time.

But yeah, more about the week: I tried to cook tofu, it went horribly wrong. I marinated it for a while and turns out I didn’t like the taste of the sauce either. So I wouldn’t recommend it. I might try again later on and stick to a proper recipe.

I was very close to cracking a few times this week, pizza without cheese isn’t really that great and well, my boyfriend seemed to have all my favourite dishes. I am back in my own flat tonight, and I think it will get easier then.

I’m attaching the falafel recipe, seen as that is the only thing I seem to have cooked properly this week.

Falafel: (serves 4-6)

400g chickpeas
4 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley
1 chopped onion
2 teaspoons cumin
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
2 cloves of garlic
the juice of 1 lemon
salt, pepper

The amounts for spices are more or less an estimate. I used way more, but that’s because I like spicy things. I know this doesn’t go for everyone, so these measures are a bit more normal. But feel free to add more and change it to your taste. Just bear in mind that these ingredients (that are then blended together) do not taste so great until you have fried them.



Put all ingredients together in a blender, and blend until you have a rough paste. Add water or flour if the paste is too dry or watery. Form into patties and fry in oil until nice and crispy on the outside and heated through.

Serve them in flatbread, with lettuce, tomatoes, onion and a sauce of your choice.

Let’s hope I’m onto a better week this week.

Das Falafel das wir am Sonntag gemacht haben war wunderbar. Wir haben das Fladenbrot auch selbst gemacht, ein richtiger Fladen ist es allerdings nicht geworden. War aber trotzdem lecker.

Montag:
Frühstück: Toast mit veganem Bohnen Brotaufstrich, sieht aus wie Kacke, schmeckt toll.
Mittag: Falafel Reste und Kuchen
Abend: Vegetarisches Rogan Josh Curry

Dienstag:
Brunch: Curry Rest
Abend: Kartoffelbrei, Gemüse und Tofu. Ich habe Tofu gemacht. Es war furchtbar.

Mittwoch:
Frühstück: Toast mit veganem Aufstrich
Mittag: Toast mit Frisch“käse“
Abend: Pommes und Gemüsestäbchen
Ich bin ein Kohlehydrat-Monster

Donnerstag:
Frühstück: Wieder Toast
Mittag: Bohnen mit Toast
Abend: Pizza ohne Käse – war langweilig

Freitag:
Frühstück: WIEDER Toast!
Mittag: Rest Pizza
Abend: Vegane Burger

Samstag:
Frühstück: Toast …
Mittag: Tomaten Reis
Abend: Salat

Sonntag:
Frühstück: ratet mal
Mittag: Frühlingsrollen
Abend: Imam Bayildi

Ich habe also Imam Bayildi gemacht, ein Essen das ich schon mehrmals in Restaurants gegessen habe und liebe; es ist ein türkisches Gericht, von dem (laut dem Namen) der Imam in Ohnmacht gefallen ist weil es so gut geschmeckt hat. Ich habe es zum ersten Mal selbst gekocht und niemand ist in Ohnmacht gefallen. Aber es war trotzdem gut und ich weiß wie ich es das nächste Mal anders kochen würde
.
Mehr über diese Woche: Ich habe Tofu unglaublich schlecht zubereitet. Ich habe es mariniert, aber ich mochte noch nicht mal die Marinade. Ich kann das Ganze also nicht empfehlen. Vielleicht versuche ich es in den nächsten Wochen nochmal, mit einem richtigen Rezept.

Ich habe mehrmals fast aufgegeben diese Woche, Pizza ohne Käse ist halt nicht so toll und mein Freund hat alle tollsten Gerichte der Welt gegessen. So schien es zumindest. Ich bin jetzt wieder zurück in meiner Wohnung und hoffe dass es jetzt wieder leichter wird.

Anbei das Falafel Rezept, das einzige Essen das ich tatsächlich selbst gekocht habe diese Woche.

Falafel: (für 4 – 6 Personen)

400 Kichererbsen
4 EL Petersilie
1 Zwiebel
2 TL Kreuzkümmel
1 TL Cayenne Pfeffer
2 Knoblauchzehen
den Saft einer Zitrone
Salz, Pfeffer

Die Gewürzmengen habe ich etwas heruntergeschraubt, ich selbst habe mehr benutzt, aber ich mag sehr scharfes Essen und halte diese Angaben für etwas „normaler“ im Geschmack. Aber Ihr könnt natürlich auch mehr oder weniger benutzen; wie ihr wollt. Nur schmeckt die rohe Paste nicht sehr gut und es ist nicht so leicht es abzuschmecken.

Alle Zutaten werden dann zusammen in einen Mixer geworfen und püriert, bis eine grobe Paste entsteht, man kann Wasser oder Mehl hinzufügen wenn die Paste entweder zu trocken oder zu flüssig ist. Die Masse wird dann zu Bratlingen geformt und angebraten. Bis sie hübsch sind.

Das Ganze dann mit Fladenbrot, Salat, Tomaten, Zwiebel und Sauce servieren.

Guten Appetit und auf zu einer besseren Woche!

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Vegan, Vegan Challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Vegan Month, Week 2 (ENG and GER)

  1. Chris says:

    Good to see you are doing well still. Keep on going, I’m rooting for you, half way done now. It’s only going to get easier.

  2. Maria Petri says:

    Na, das war ja wirklich eine harte vegane Woche. Aber du hast durchgehalten, wies scheint. WOW!

Leave a Reply

