One Vegan Month (ENG and GER)

As of today, I am going vegan for one month. I am not doing this randomly, it’s part of my 101/1001 challenge which can be found here. This is a list of 101 personal goals, some small, some bigger that I want to achieve in 1001 days. And going vegan is part of it. I have always been intrigued about veganism and seen as I pretty much am vegetarian, going vegan seemed like the next step up.

I kind of just want to see if and how well I can do it. Can I go vegan for a month and still feel like I’m not missing out on anything, foodwise? I think I have mentioned before how much I like my cheeses. So this could get hard.

I will write a blogpost at the end of each week this month, talking about what I ate and how I got on.
I bought a vegan cookbook yesterday and have managed today fine, so I am incredibly excited about this. Let’s hope it stays that way.
A more general note, I am not against people eating meat or other animal products, I am trying this for myself, but I highly recommend buying organic, especially for meat, it’s a change in food that should be supported.

Von heute an werde ich einen Monat lang vegan leben. Die Idee kommt nicht aus dem nichts, sondern ist Teil meiner Liste an 101 Dingen die ich in 1001 Tagen hinkriegen möchte. Meine Liste ist hier zu finden. Und ein veganer Monat ist Teil dieser Liste. Ich war schon immer am Veganismus interessiert und da ich so gut wie vegetarisch lebe, schien Veganismus nur ein logischer weiterer Schritt.
Ich möchte sehen wie gut ich das ganze hinkriege, ob ich das Gefühl habe nicht (gut) genug zu essen oder ob ich am Ende sogar noch Lust auf Fleisch bekomme. Ich habe, glaube ich, schon gesagt wie sehr ich Käse liebe; das Ganze könnte also schwer werden.
Ich werde einmal die Woche hier posten, mit Bildern und Rezepten was ich unter der Woche so gegessen habe und wie es mir ergangen ist.
Gestern habe ich ein veganes Kochbuch gekauft und heute ist auch gut verlaufen. Noch bin ich ganz begeistert.

Noch eine kurze Bemerkung: ich habe nichts gegen den Konsum von Fleisch oder anderen Tierprodukten, ich finde nur dass, der Kauf von vor allem BIO Fleisch sehr unterstützenswert ist und darauf geachtet werden sollte.

As today was the first day, I haven’t eaten that many exciting things yet. I had a stuffed pita bread with hummous and tomatoes/cucumber/onion for brunch, a tinned soup of winter vegetables for a snack later on, and for dinner I cooked a lasagne, using about 200g of Cheatin’ Vegetarian Mince (which is also vegan, woop!), 2 tins chopped tomatoes, lasagne sheets, 1 courgette, 1 onion, 1 clove of garlic, salt, pepper, oregano, crushed chillies and some slices Cheezly Mozzarella Style.
And yes, this is a big portion, leftovers for lunch tomorrow!

I fried the onion and garlic in some oil and added the tinned tomatoes after a while. I then stirred in the fake mince and seasoned the sauce. I layered tomato sauce, courgette slices, more sauce and pasta sheets until I had used it all up. I topped it off with the fake cheese (which if tried on its own is absolutely horrendous! I thought I’ll have a little cheese snack while my lasagne is in the oven and I nearly died. To not try this at home!).

I baked it for ever on 230 degrees, but that is because I have a silly microwave oven. I generally would recommend 20 mins at 180 degrees.

And it was shockingly good. It tasted like a “real” lasagne. The cheese didn’t melt as well as actual mozzarella would have, but still! So far, I’m happy.

Da es erst der erste Tag ist, habe ich noch nicht viel Spannendes gegessen. Ich habe ein gefülltes Pita Brot mit Hummus und Tomaten/Gurken/Zwieblen als Brunch gegessen und später eine Gemüsesuppe aus der Dose als Snack. Zum Abendessen gab es Lasagne. Ich habe etwa 200g veganes Hackfleisch genommen (sollte in Reformhäusern erhältlich sein), 2 Dosen gehackte Tomaten, 1 Zucchini, 1 Zwiebel, 1 Knoblauchzehe, Lasagneblätter, Salz, Pfeffer, Oregano, getrocknete Chillies und einige Scheiben veganen Mozzarella Käse von der Marke Cheezly (auch in Deutschland erhältlich) benötigt.
Und ja, das wird eine Riesenportion. Den Rest gibt es morgen bei mir zum Mittagessen.

Ich habe die Zwiebel und den Knobi in etwas Öl angebraten und dann die Dosentomaten dazu gegeben. Dann habe ich das Hack“fleisch“ eingerührt und die Sauce gewürzt. Dann habe ich Sauce, Zucchinischeiben, mehr Sauce und Lasagneblätter übereinander gelegt und zu guter Letzt etwas Käse drüber gelegt. Leider habe ich ihn auch „roh“ probiert, war furchtbar, ich hab fast schon versucht ihn wieder von der Lasagne runterzukratzen.

Das ganze dann etwa 20 Min. bei 180 Grad backen und fertig ist der Schmaus.

Es hat wirklich gut geschmeckt, echter Mozzarella schmilzt doch etwas besser, aber man kann ja nicht alles haben.
Erster Tag vorbei und noch bin ich zufrieden!

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Vegan Challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

