Homemade Ravioli (ENG and GER)

Happy World Pasta Day everyone. It’s true, this day exists. And to honour it, and also because I have never tried it, I decided to make my own pasta today.
I used 250g plain flour (I know you’re meant to use type ‘00’, but I didn’t have any and I finished uni late and wasn’t in the mood to run around town trying to find some) and two eggs. I then messed up the dough, added another egg and more flour. So I can’t give you proper measurements. But it’s easy enough to notice when the dough has the right consistency, until then just keep adding!

I let the dough sit for a few minutes and then started rolling it out. Rolling it, because I don’t have one of those fancy pasta machines that do the job for you. But my God, this was exhausting. My biceps are like twice the size as they were before now!

Looking back now, I think I should have tried to have a bit of a thinner dough than this, but I was just incredibly worried it was going to rip. But still, it looked pretty!

I was also trying to use up some more leftovers, so I figured ravioli would be a good idea. I chopped two tomatoes that were still sitting around in my fridge.

I fried them off in some oil, to make a paste, then I added some chopped olives and gorgonzola (ideally I would have used feta here, but this also worked fantastically) and seasoned it with some pepper. Then I put small dollops of this mix onto my pasta dough.

Sealed them with a fork, to keep my goodie good mix in and boiled them for a few minutes – until they floated.

Et voilà! I ate it all up, drizzled with a bit of olive oil and some grated parmesan cheese.

Alles Gute zum Welt Pasta Tag. Der ist heute wirklich. Und zur Feier des Tages habe ich mich entschlossen Nudeln selbst zu machen. Allerdings hatte ich lange schon geplant das mal zu machen. Und heute war es dann soweit.
Ich habe 250g Mehl mit 2 Eiern benutzt (im Idealfall hätte ich Type 00 Mehl nehmen sollen, das hatte ich aber nicht), habe dann aber noch ein Ei dazu genommen und dann noch Mehl dazu geschüttet, und so weiter. Genaue Maße habe ich also nicht. Der Teig ist aber trotzdem ganz gut gelungen.

Dann musste ich ihn ausrollen. Minutenlang. Durchgehend. Weil ich keine von diesen schicken Nudelnmaschinen habe. Meine Oberarme sind jetzt doppel so dick wie vorher!

Weil ich noch einige Essensreste aufbrauchen wollte hatte ich mich entschieden Ravioli zu machen. Ich habe also zwei geschnittene Tomaten in Olivenöl angebraten, um eine dickliche Sauce zu bekommen. In diese habe ich dann einige Oliven und etwas Gorgonzola untergerührt (im Idealfall wäre es Feta gewesen, aber es war ja wie gesagt ein Reste-Essen).

Das ganze dann auf Pasta Stücke geben, mit einem anderen Stück zudecken und mit einer Gabel den Rand andrücken. Nicht das noch was rausläuft.

Ich habe das Ganze dann kurz gekocht, nur ein paar Minuten, bis die Ravioli an der Oberfläche schwimmen, und das wars. Noch mit etwas Olivenöl und Parmesan (und Rucola) servieren.
Guten Appetit!

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, pasta, tried and tested and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

