Chocolate Mousse and Honeycomb (ENG and GER)


So, yesterday, I watched Come Dine With Me Down Under, and got so into one of the recipes I needed to try it out. It was a chocolate mousse with homemade honeycomb.
Now, I may need to mention that I am currently in the middle of moving flats and am staying with my boyfriend’s parents. And I can’t just go ahead and make any old crap and mess up their kitchen. So I thought a nice way around that is to offer to cook dinner + dessert for everyone. No sooner said than done – we drove to the supermarket to get liquid glucose – yeah, really. Never heard of or used it before that. (I also bought a pizza and a muffin tray: 2 for 1. Get in!) And yeah, I tried making chocolate mousse and honeycomb. Seen as I had never made honeycomb I stuck to the recipe really closely. Same with the mousse, it was kinda different from the ones I had made so far – stirring up a syrup of icing sugar and water to add to the yolks and blah.
And yeah, everything turned out alright, but I wasn’t entirely happy with stuff. The mousse was too heavy (which I expected, but didn’t effing worry about for some reason) and the honeycomb was just too much and not fluffy enough and well, I have some precise ideas how I wanna alter the recipe and kinda make it more appealing. But I can’t really block up the kitchen AGAIN for the same desert AGAIN. So, you all gotta wait till I’m in my new flat and have settled in so I can destroy my own kitchen. But here’s a photo for now. Desert assembled
So long.


Ich habe gestern die australische Version von “Das perfekte Dinner” geguckt, und mich direkt in ein Rezept verliebt dass ich ausprobieren wollte. Ein Schokoladenmousse mit selbstgemachter Honigwabe.

Jetzt muss ich dazu sagen, dass ich im Moment mitten im Umzug stecke und zur Zeit bei den Eltern meines Freundes wohne. Ich kann also nicht einfach irgendwas in deren Küche anstellen, einfach mal so. Um das ganze geschickt zu umgehen, habe ich einfach mal angeboten Abendessen + Nachtisch zu kochen.
Gesagt getan, zum Supermarkt gefahren um flüssige Glucose zu kaufen. Hatte bis dahin noch nie von so Zeug gehört. Hab dann aber direkt ein Pizza- und ein Muffinblech mitgekauft. Woop! Da ich noch nie Honigwaben selbstgemacht habe, hab ich mich unglaublich streng an das Rezept gehalten. Was das Mousse anging, genauso – es war vom Rezept her nämlich ein bisschen anders als die die ich bisher gemacht hatte – mit einer Art Sirup aus Puderzucker und Wasser der dann zu den Eigelben gegeben wird.
Hat auch alles ganz gut geklappt, ganz zufrieden war ich aber doch nicht. Das Mousse war mir zu schwer (womit ich witzigerweise gerechnet hatte, aber trotzdem nichts gegen unternommen hatte) und von der Honigwabe war zu viel da, und war nicht luftig genug. *Grummel* Ich habe einige Ideen, wie ich beides verbessern könnte, aber ich kann ja nicht NOCHMAL die Küche besetzen und NOCHMAL den gleichen Nachtisch machen hier. Also müsst ihr alle warten bis ich in meiner neuen Wohnung bin und mich dort ausreichend eingerichtet habe. Dann zerstöre ich auch meine eigene Küche.

Bis dann. Ausserdem: Foto! Honeycomb

This entry was posted in Come Dine With Me, Desserts, Food, tried and tested and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

