Anna’s Readathon (ENG)

I will update this post regularly, instead of creating a new post.

Hour 1 – 14:09

Reading: William Golding – Lord of the Flies
Started on page: 0
On page: 47
Total pages read: 47
Time read: 1:00

Mini challenge by I heart monster:

1)Where are you reading from today?
2)Three random facts about me…
3)How many books do you have in your TBR pile for the next 24 hours?
4)Do you have any goals for the read-a-thon (i.e. number of books, number of pages, number of hours, or number of comments on blogs)?
5)If you’re a veteran read-a-thoner, any advice for people doing this for the first time?

1) I am reading in Birmingham, UK, even though I started off on a train from Barnt Green, UK to Birmingham and then walked from the station to my flat, reading, without getting run over. Success!
2) – I have planned out exactly what I want to eat during the readathon, am starting to get the feeling that I won’t have enough though.
- Even though I am fluent in three languages, I am only reading in English this time. This wasn’t planned, it just so happened.
- I am soon going on holiday with my lovely co-blogger Ally.
3) 6 books overall.
4) No real plans. I want to read for as long as possible, but seen as I only managed to get three hours of sleep last night, I will have to interrupt to nap.
5) First time for me. I am lost.

I have also added myself to the reading map that you can find here.

I will now make a cup of tea and have some lunch, then head out to the canals and read there. The weather is too nice to stay in.

Hour (almost) 4 – 16:54

Reading: William Golding – Lord of the Flies
Started on page: 0
On page: 119
Total pages read: 119
Time read: 2:55
Snacks: Tortilla wrap with hummus and tomatoes, Kinder Bueno

Spent the last hour and a bit reading by the canals. It was beautiful, apart from the amount of drunken people that had to come past here. And the duck that shat next to my shoe.
As you can see I am *still* reading Lord of the Flies. Even though I am incredibly slow, I am enjoying it a lot, wish I had been able to read it earlier. I’ve been wanting to read it since I was about 12/13. In one of our German classes we read an extract, I can’t remember which, and our teacher quickly summarised the book for us. It sounded awesome, scary and haunting and now, nearly ten years later it turns out to be exactly that.
I am happy.

Hour 5 and a bit – 18:20

Reading: William Golding – Lord of the Flies
On page: 160
Total pages read: 160
Time read: 3:50

I am still on my first book and am slowly going mad. Got so many nice tweets though reminding me it’s not a race.
I’m going to take a break and cook some dinner for myself and drink a lot of water – I have a bit of a headache.
But then I’ll get back to my book with renewed energy and focus!

Hour 7 – 20:40

Reading: William Golding – Lord of the Flies
On page: 225 finished!
Total pages read: 225
Time read: 6:20

I finished my first book and night is coming. I am really not sure I’ll make it without naps, but we’ll see. I had dinner and read whilst eating, some of my curry ended up on the book. Sad times.

I enjoyed the book, but this isn’t a book you can finish reading, put down and move on to the next. I found it very emotional and haunting. And am still kind of terrified. I did think the ending would be a lot worse, I mean it is sort of a happy ending, isn’t it? For Ralph anyway. Ooooh, I don’t know.

Hour 9.5 – 22:32

Reading: Philip Pullman – The Ruby in the Smoke
On page: 22
Total pages read: 247
Time read: 6:50

It’s minichallenge time and I am stupidly excited about this one. It is by The Hungry Readers and we were meant to recreate a book cover of a book that we are reading/planning to read.
I chose My Mother wore a yellow Dress by Christina McKenna, and this is the cover:

and here comes my version. Yay!
Ok, so my dress isn’t yellow and I don’t have a globe, just a bad drawing on some baking paper, but come on!

Hour 11 – 00:19

Reading: Philip Pullman – The Ruby in the Smoke
On page: 37
Total pages read: 262
Time read: 7:10

Big break, driving from mine to Chris’. And I can’t read in the car :(
Back to reading with some coffee now though. Go me.

Mid-Event Survey:
1. What are you reading right now? Philip Pullman – The Ruby in the Smoke
2. How many books have you read so far? I only finished one :(
3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon? To kill a Mockingbird
4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day? I booked the day off work. This is my holiday!
5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those? I guess I did. I had to go emergency shopping, but went to the closest shop and read whilst walking and drove from mine to my boyfriends where I didn’t read, cos I get really bad headaches from that. We talked about our books though.
6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far? That I am still awake! I didn’t sleep much last night.
7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? Some mini challenges were so specific about a genre that I couldn’t really take part. Like the boyfriend-lover thing. Didn’t stand a chance :(
8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year? I would make a proper shopping list the day before, so I definitely have everything I need. And I would try to get some more sleep the night before.
9. Are you getting tired yet? Yeah. Quite badly. It’s coffee time and cold-water-in-the-face time again.
10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered? Errrm, dont think so

Hour 12 – 01:26

Reading: Philip Pullman – The Ruby in the Smoke
On page: 63
Total pages read: 288
Time read: 8:10

I have spent the last hour eating and reading – by the looks of things very slowly. Hummus and things to dip in it! (Also, coffee!)

By the way, does anybody else think that Sally Lockhart is an incredibly stereotypical character? Mhm.

Here is my reply to At Random‘s mini challenge about book/reading habits.

I am one of those evil people that dog ears books. I also underline sentences or whole passages that do something to me. Be it a happy or sad emotion. Or just something that makes me smile or cringe.
in my defence, I value words, not books :]
But ebooks just wouldn’t be right for me. Still has to be a book I can mess around with. xD

Hour 15.5 – 04:26

Reading: Philip Pullman – The Ruby in the Smoke
On page: 137
Total pages read: 362
Time read: 10:10

Definitely time for another update, even though I am not making all that much progress. I had a half an hour nap at around 2am and have been reading since then. I also recorded a motivational dance for my co-blogger Ally in order to help her keep going. If it helped, I don’t know.
All I know is that I am reading incredibly slowly. But I am reading!

Hour 17 – 06:11

Reading: Harper Lee – To kill a Mockingbird
On page: 0
Total pages read: 434
Time read: 11:40

I finally finished my second book and it was about time as well.
I am now at the point where my head reacts to loud noises and light. That’s how tired I am. But the sun is coming up, which is nice.
I didn’t enjoy Ruby in the Smoke that much. Think it was too cheesy for me.
Might have to have another half an hour powernap and then carry on with the next book.

I haven’t read any more yet, but have just participated in JD Montague‘s mini challenge. My answer to the question about which character I would run away with was “My answer isn’t even sophisticated. I would run away with Pippi Longstocking (and Tommy, Annika, the horse and Mr Nelson, the monkey).
Not only because she was my childhood heroine, but also because I am wayyyyy too stressed at the moment and running away with Pippi, chasing pirates and camping out on an island for a while would just be the best thing to deal with stress.
Besides, Pippi has special Krumelus (at least that’s what they’re called in the German edition) pills that prevent you from ever growing up, making sure you can stay a child forever.
Would be fantastic!”

What’s yours?

Hour 20 – 09:17

Reading: Haruki Murakami – after the quake
On page: 30
Total pages read: 464
Time read: 12:00

Small change of plan. Decided to read after the quake instead. It’s shorter and my vision has started to go blurry. Drinking a cup of tea now though and still reading.

Mini challenge by Quirky Girls Read. A book trailer of a book I am crazy interested in. It just looks so pretty!

(almost) Hour 23 – 11:52

Reading: Haruki Murakami – after the quake
On page: 132 finished
Total pages read: 566
Time read: 13:40

Finished my Murakami book. I loved this one. I’m usually not a fan of short stories, they’re just too short. But I loved these ones. Especially the last one, honey pie.
I am sitting outside in the sun again, which is making life a lot easier xD

Final hour mini challenge eeeeek

1. Which hour was most daunting for you? Between 5 and 7 am. So that was hours 16 – 18.
2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? -Would really recommend Murakami’s after the quake. It’s short stories, so you when your attention span starts to just fall apart, it’s easy to keep reading them, and as most of Murakami’s stuff, they’re fantastic.
3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? -I’m quite happy actually.
4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? -It’s my first readathon, so I can’t really compare. I got lots of Twitter support though. That was great.
5. How many books did you read? -About to start my fourth one.
6. What were the names of the books you read? Lord of the Flies, Ruby in the Smoke and after the quake.
7. Which book did you enjoy most? -Lord of the Flies.
8. Which did you enjoy least? -The Ruby in the Smoke.
9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? -None, I was very impressed with how this all worked.
10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? -Will definitely take part as a reader again and might even try and think of a mini challenge to host.

Finished! 13:01

Reading: David Nicholls – One Day
On page: 32
Total pages read: 598
Time read: 14:40

I made it. I’m alive. And still sane.
I will now go to sleep. And do a more organised update … later.

This entry was posted in Books, readathon april 2011, reading. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Anna’s Readathon (ENG)

  1. Trish says:

    Welcome! And don’t be lost. Today is all about having fun! Find a routine and stick with it and you’ll do great. And if your book doesn’t work, pick up another. Not all are readathon material.

    Hope today’s great for you!!

  2. Jillian ♣ says:

    I have read an entirety of 14 pages, and I started 6 hours ago!! So, you are a speed-reader. Ha -

  3. J.D.M. says:

    You certainly don’t need to feel bad about going slowly–we’re in the same boat (actually, you’re about a hundred pages ahead of me), so you’ll have a partner to go mad with. :D

    Have fun, keep reading!

  4. Rah Rah Sis Boom Bah Show that book you’re readin’ who’s boss!

  5. Julia says:

    Gebt mir ein A! Gebt mir ein N! Gebt mir ein N! Gebt mir ein A! Go Anna, go Anna!

  6. Florinda says:

    I’m here from the cheer squad to wish you a great Readathon – and don’t worry about your reading pace! I’m still on my first book too. Just keep on readin’, and have fun!

  7. Ally says:

    *hoch und runter hüpf* GO YOU!

  8. therrreader says:

    nice work with the cover!

    • Anna says:

      thank you! it was such a welcome reading break. so good to get a bit creative and silly and get up and do something :D

  9. Trish says:

    Wow! I really love your cover recreation! Very creative.

    You’re doing awesome!!

  10. Looks like you’re having a great Readathon!

    Keep those eyes open and wide,
    keep the words spoken and alive.
    Keep the coffee and soda pouring,
    It’s the readathon way to survive!

  11. this is such a FuN read ! well done !

  12. Wow! You’re doing great! And this post reminds me that I need to re-read Lord of the Flies (one of my faves for re-reads). And I LOVE your cover re-creation! AND I wish it were warm enough here for me to have spent some time reading outside! :)

  13. sanddanz says:

    Way to go! Keep on reading… the end is near for us! :)

  14. Schielan says:

    gratuliere, du hast deinen redathon geschafft!!!! :)

    • Anna says:

      dankeschoen :)
      im nachhinein wuensche ich, ich haette mit one day frueher angefangen. ist zwar ein dickes buch, aber sehr leicht zu lesen. verdammt! xD

      • Schielan says:

        ja, das liest sich echt wahnsinnig leicht, ich hab das meiste davon auch mal am flughafen gelesen…

  15. Maria Petri says:

    Anna, die Cover-Nachbildung ist dir wirklich sehr gut gelungen! Was war das denn für eine Jury, die das nicht erkannt hat???
    Ich finde das Foto SUPER!

  16. jehara says:

    That’s so awesome you got to read outside and by the canals.
    I really enjoyed your book trailer. Thanks for playing!

  17. Pingback: Pre-Readathon post | The Adventures of a Linguaphile

Leave a Reply

