One Vegan Month, Week 1 (ENG and GER)

As my first week as a vegan draws to a close, I have to say, it was not as spectacular as I was expecting. I have to admit that my cooking efforts this week were not the best, due to feeling quite ill and uni work being a drag. So, food was vegan, but not that exiting.

Seen as my last vegan foodpost was on a Monday, I am going to start this week with Tuesday.
Tuesday:
Breakfast: Bread with homemade cherry jam
Lunch: Leftover lasagne from the night before
Dinner: Gazpacho
Wednesday:
Breakfast: my usual breakfast of buckwheat, lemon juice, (vegan) cream and fruit
Lunch: Leftover gazpacho
Dinner: Burgers
Thursday:
Breakfast: same as on Wednesday
Lunch: Bread with vegan bean pate
Dinner: Puff pastry tart with different vegetables
Friday:
Breakfast: same as on Wednesday
Lunch: Fajitas with onions and peppers
Dinner: same as for lunch
Saturday:
Breakfast: stuffed pita bread with tomato and cucumber
Lunch: Couscous with vegetables
Dinner: Vegan hotdogs with onions and gherkins
Sunday:
Breakfast: same as on Wednesday
Lunch: leftover hotdogs and chocolate cake
Dinner: Homemade falafel in flatbreads

I can’t write about the falafel yet, because we haven’t made it yet, but this is the plan for dinner tonight.

I have had a somewhat hard time this week; I was in uni for 5 hours on Tuesday and wanted to grab something to eat there, we have a counter where they prepare fresh custom made sandwiches (a bit like Subway, just tastier), so I thought that way I could easily get a vegan sandwich. Turns out the sandwich lady was disgusted with my idea of a sandwich (“WHAT??? Just salad?? No cheese or ham?”) and turns out their spread isn’t vegan either (they told me it was, I asked if I could still have a look at the ingredients and it wasn’t). So, people seem to get pretty arsey with you for being vegan. One of my lovely friends has also decided to eat nothing but meat for a week, in protest of my experiment. I think I should also add that he couldn’t do it, but still. People don’t like vegans. Or people that sympathise with the idea of it.

Other than that, the week was less dramatic. I cooked at home where I couldn’t offend anyone. I’m guessing my chocolate cake is the most exciting thing I have made, but unfortunately my pictures aren’t that great. It tasted good though.

If you want to know any of the other recipes I have used in this week, let me know in the comments and I will add it as well.

I got the recipe from the FatfreeVeganBlog, which has much better pictures of the cake than I have, so you should definitely have a look. We changed the recipe a little, because we couldn’t actually get everything in the shops.
The measurements are converted from cups, which is why they’re so weird.

Recipe: (adapted from here)
150g wholemeal flour – selfraising
6 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
½ teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
77g water – yes, you’re going to have to weigh water
70g blueberries
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
161g golden syrup
140g blueberries (for serving)
additional golden syrup (for serving)

Preheat oven to 160 degrees and combine all the dry ingredients. Then, blend water, berries and vinegar until smooth. Stir into the dry ingredients along with syrup. Put into a greased cake tin and bake for 30 mins. When cold, drizzle with syrup and scatter on the berries.
The cake tastes absolutely fantastic, I just wish I had been able to have a bit of whipped cream with it, then it had been perfect.

Wish me a good second week.

Meine erste vegane Woche nähert sich dem Ende, und ich muss zugeben dass sie nicht besonders spannend war. Ich habe nicht viel Extravagantes gekocht, da ich mich etwas krank gefühlt habe, aber auch weil ich unglaublich viel für die Uni zu tun hatte. Das Essen war also vegan, aber nicht besonders spannend.
Da mein letzter Post am Montag war, werde ich jetzt einfach mit Dienstag anfangen.
Dienstag:
Frühstück: Toast mit selbstgemachter Kirschmarmelade
Mittag: Lasagne Rest vom Vortag
Abend: Gazpacho
Mittwoch:
Frühstück: mein übliches Frühstück mit Buchweizen, Zitronensaft, (veganer) Sahne und verschiedenen Früchten
Mittag: Gazpacho Rest vom Vortag
Abend: Burger
Donnerstag:
Frühstück: wie am Mittwoch
Mittag: Toast mit einer veganen Bohnenpaste
Abend: Blätterteigpizza mit Gemüse
Freitag:
Frühstück: wie am Mittwoch
Mittag: Fajitas mit Paprika und Zwiebeln
Abend: wie zum Mittagessen
Samstag:
Frühstück: gefülltes Pitabrot mit Tomaten und Gurke
Mittag: Couscous mit Gemüse
Abend: vegane Hotdogs
Sonntag:
Frühstück: wie am Mittwoch
Mittag: Hotdogs und Schokokuchen
Abend: Falafel mit selbstgemachtem Fladenbrot

Über das Falafel kann ich allerdings noch nicht schreiben, da ich es noch nicht gemacht habe. Es steht nur auf dem Plan für heute Abend.

Die Woche war schon schwer, am Dienstag war ich am Dienstag 5 Stunden lang in der Uni beschäftigt und wollte mir dort eine Zwischenmahlzeit kaufen, und da ich weiß dass wir eine Theke haben an der Sandwiches nach Wunsch zubereitet werden bin ich da hin gegangen. Die Frau die dort arbeitete war aber ganz und garnicht von mir begeistert („WIE?? Du möchtest nur Salat? Keinen Käse oder Schinken???“) und deren Margarine war auch nicht vegan, obwohl mir das von drei verschiedenen Angestellten versichert wurde. Aus irgendeinem Grund ist man direkt unbeliebt wenn man etwas veganes möchte. Ein Freund von mir hat auch versucht als Gegenprogramm eine Woche nichts als Fleisch zu essen. War also alles etwas ätzend, Leute mögen anscheinend keine Veganer.

Abgesehen davon war die Woche nicht so dramatisch. Ich habe nur zu Hause gekocht, wo ich auch niemanden beleidigen konnte durch mein rücksichtsloses Verhalten. Ich denke der Schoko Kuchen ist das Spannendste was ich diese Woche gekocht habe, allerdings sind meine Bilder nicht so schön geworden.

Falls Bedarf für ein weiteres Rezept dieser Woche ist, kommentiert doch bitte und ich werde es noch einfügen.

Das Rezept habe ich auf dem FatfreeVeganBlog gefunden, wo auch viel bessere Bilder sind als ich hier habe, also bitte mal dort vorbeischauen. Mein Rezept ist nicht ganz genau so wie das Original, da wir nicht alle Zutaten im Supermarkt finden konnten.

Rezept (von hier)
150g Vollkornmehl
6 EL ungesüßtes Kakaopulver
½ TL Natrium
1 TL Backpulver
¼ TL Salz
77g Wasser (Viel Spass beim Wasser wiegen)
70g Blaubeeren
1 TL Balsamico Essig
161g Sirup
140g Blaubeeren als Deko
etwas Sirup als Deko

Den Ofen auf 160 Grad vorheizen und die trockenen Zutaten zusammenmischen. Dann das Wasser, die Blaubeeren und den Essig pürieren. Diesen Mix, zusammen mit dem Sirup, zu den trockenen Zutaten geben und gut unterrühren. In einer gefetten Kuchenform 30 Minuten backen. Wenn der Kuchen abgekühlt ist den Rest Sirup drüberträufeln und mit Beeren belegen.

Schmeckt total lecker, und ich kann mir vorstellen dass er mit etwas geschlagener Sahne noch besser ist.

Auf eine gute zweite Woche.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food, Vegan, Vegan Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

